jump to navigation

What a trip! July 27, 2006

Posted by dtenjo in Books, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Literature.
trackback

One Hundred Years of Solitude is by far the best book I’ve ever read.

cien.jpg I must write a few lines on Gabriel Garcia Marquez’s masterpiece. I just finished reading it, and I still feel like my mind is somewhere else, trying to come back from all the magic, and all the challenges that this book made me feel.

I am not going to pretend I am a literature critic, so I am not going to present a full critique of this Novel, which does not need it anyway as I am sure almost everybody knows of its quality. The narrative is amazing; the way in which Garcia Marquez describes events is so unique, and so magic… The reader becomes familiar with the characters in the story, like if they were part of one’s own life, and as if all the magic events that occur, were actually feasible in this world..

It is hard to describe the emotions that it made me feel. I laughed like if I was mad; I also cried, I felt pain… This story takes you through a rollercoaster of emotions that is very hard to experience anywhere else. Never before had a book taken me to where this one has. Especially, as a Colombian I could feel it, like if it was my own story right there. This book represents so much of the country’s own history. There is more realism in this book than most may think. Believe it or not, the events that surround this story actually represent Colombia’s history in the early and mid-twentieth century. Such is the sad, and funny reality of that country, –which you can say is as magic as Macondo–, and this makes you understand Garcia Marquez’s words during his Nobel price speech, when he said that he felt entitled to believe in “A new and sweeping utopia of life, where no one will be able to decide for others even how they die, where love will be true, and happiness will be possible, and where the races condemned to one hundred years of solitude will have, at last and forever, a second chance on earth“.

I had wanted to read this book for several years as I grew up hearing everybody talk about it. From Colombia, to North America, even in Japan someone talked to me about Garcia Marquez’s work. For one reason or another I hadn’t been able to get to read One Hundred Years of Solitude. I finally did, and now I really understand the reason why Gabriel Garcia Marquez is admired by so many people around the world.

Comments»

1. India map travel - July 31, 2006

India map travel…

I am Karin, very interesting article that contained the information I was searching for in Google, thanks….


Leave a Reply

